Bearskin Lodge

Bearskin Lodge Logo

124 E. Bearskin Road
Grand Marais, MN 55604

(800) 338-4170

Located midway up the fabled Gunflint Trail in the Superior National Forest, at the edge of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. In summer, Bearskin Lodge features canoeing, kayaking, hiking, boating, fishing, and exploring in a pristine wilderness environment.  In winter, Bearskin is a destination cross-country ski and snowshoe resort, featuring meticulous trail grooming done with state-of-the-art grooming equipment.

Each Bearskin Lodge cabin is nestled in its own secluded hideaway and features a private dock and cozy fireplace or woodstove. Bearskin Lodge is the perfect venue for observing Mother Nature in all her glory.  Every season provides unique opportunities for enjoying this peaceful, natural playground—and reconnecting with those who are important to you.

Situated halfway between two worlds on the Gunflint Trail, Bearskin is located about 30 minutes from both ends of the Gunflint. At the beginning of the Trail you’ll find the community of Grand Marais, full of world class restaurants, art galleries and unique shops. Or drive to the end of the Trail where deep wilderness offers excellent hiking and exploring.

  • Open Year-round
  • 15 Cabins and Lodges
  • Log Cabins
  • Dining
  • Gift Shop
  • Weddings
  • Corporate Meetings
  • Reunions
  • High Speed Internet (Lodge)
  • Wine/Beer
  • Hot Tub House
  • Sauna
  • Swimming Beach
  • 77 K of Groomed Ski Trails
  • Canoeing
  • Kayaking
  • Fishing
  • Boats
  • Cross-Country Skiing
  • Dog Sledding
  • Snowshoeing
  • Hiking
  • Birding
  • Guided Trips
  • Massages
  • Children’s Activities
  • Horseback Riding (nearby)
  • Mountain Biking
  • Ice Skating
  • Sleigh Rides
  • Golf (nearby)

Founded in 1925, Bearskin Lodge began as “Camp Jackson.” In the 1930s, it was known as “Camp Allen” and was the setting for a series of children’s books by well-known illustrator Nell Stolp Smock featuring White Tail, the “King of the Forest.” The main lodge at Bearskin still has an historic watercolor map of the area done by this artist in 1935, illustrating the fishing, hunting, and exploring that first brought guests to this retreat nearly 100 years ago. Little has changed since that time. Barb and Dave Tuttle built the David Salmela-designed main lodge building in the 1980s, which houses the restaurant, gift shop and lodge townhomes. Bearskin cabins are regularly updated and modernized, but we strive to maintain an environment that still evokes the spirit of the era when the resort was founded.

Bearskin is a true family resort—small enough to know your name, but large enough to provide excellent services and amenities. The McCloughan family bought Bearskin in 2007. Bob and Sue McCloughan were teachers in the Twin Cities, with a long history of BWCAW, Hudson’s Bay, Alaska, and Yukon canoe trips before moving to the Gunflint Trail. Their son Quinn and his wife Kate are gradually taking over management of the lodge. They are avid canoeists who have explored some of the most remote parts of the BWCAW, Quetico, and northern Ontario.